Musings of a crunchy, domestic goddess

Just another mama musing about her kids, Attachment Parenting, activism, photography, and life in general

Shutdown day – March 24, 2007 March 23, 2007

Filed under: Current events,My life — amygeekgrl @ 1:24 pm

Jody just shared this with me…

Shut down day – March 24, 2007 – http://www.shutdownday.org/

“It is obvious that people would find life extremely difficult without computers, maybe even impossible. If they disappeared for just one day, would we be able to cope?
Be a part of one of the biggest global experiments ever to take place on the internet. The idea behind the experiment is to find out how many people can go without a computer for one whole day, and what will happen if we all participate!
Shutdown your computer on this day and find out! Can you survive for 24 hours without your computer?”

What an interesting (and scary, at least to me) experiment. Anyone going to do it? Jody and I will probably give it a go. It’s a great way to insure we spend a full day of family togetherness, and that’s gotta be good, right? Though going without my computer for a whole day may very well kill me. ;) We’ll see what happens! *Gulp!* Guess I’ll report back on Sunday to tell ya how we did.

Edited at 3:30 p.m. to add: I’m having serious 2nd thoughts already. Not sure it’s going to happen.

 

11 Responses to “Shutdown day – March 24, 2007”

  1. Julie Says:

    I love this idea. I am so dependent on my computer, though, that going without it for a day would take planning (or a day trip!). Tomorrow can’t happen, but maybe I’ll have a self-imposed shut down day next week. You know what? I shall…

  2. amygeekgrl Says:

    julie – that’s how i feel too. i just found out about it today so it’s hard for me to just do it tomorrow w/o any advanced planning, especially since i have some photography work to do this weekend. maybe i’ll just do the self-imposed day another day. i think it would be good for me.

  3. antropologa Says:

    Not gonna happen for me–I need my computer entertainmen while I pump! Also, I have a paper due.

    Maybe when I’m done pumping. It’ll actually be nice to have a break from the screen.

  4. Tonja Says:

    LOL – easy cheesy! I just went a whole week without my computer (it crashed). A day… that’s for wimps. LOL

    Honestly, I didn’t miss it that much. You wouldn’t believe the housework I got done. I had all the laundry caught up by Wednesday. It was awesome.

    It was also nice to have my kids doing something other than sitting in front of it.

    I think this will be great for everyone to try. If people can’t make it one day, they may want to seriously stop and consider their real priorities. :o)

  5. mb Says:

    I actually did not have my computer for more than 3 weeks because the hard drive was being replaced and i have to say it was glorious! i felt free! my kids were so much cooler! saying that, I will also say that after I got it back…i was in bliss. information at my fingertips once again!!

    I will definitely try it tomorrow though!

    peace.

  6. amamasblog Says:

    I have to work tomorrow with two computers, so it won’t happen for me, but there have been days, maybe like once every month or so, where I actually don’t turn on the computer. It is usually on a week-end when we have been busy with something, or gone, and by the time we get home it is late and I go to bed. I can’t say that I miss it for a day, but I think I would have withdrawal if it was gone for a week or something. Good luck to everyone who tries it out. :-)

  7. K Says:

    Good luck :)

    I’ve done it… i’ve gone actually three full days, and let’s see.. 24×3=72 hours, and almost all of those 72 were tough!

  8. BerryBird Says:

    Ooops. I am just reading this now, on the 24th, so I definitely cannot participate in the official day. It’s definitely an interesting idea though.

  9. BerryBird Says:

    Sorry to hit you twice in a row here, but I am getting caught up on my blogging, and just read about Shutdown Day on another blog I think you might like (I’m remembering a while ago you were looking for blog recommendations). Don’t know if you’ve been to Groovy Green before, but if not, you might want to check it out. It seems right up your alley. Cheers!

  10. Amy Says:

    Well I didn’t know about it til too late. Happy 24th! I had gone 19 days with no computer access when I went trekking in the Himilayas in Nepal back in 2001. Didn’t miss it as I was in the midst of jaw dropping beauty and extreme physical challenges.

    When I go to my parents’ place out in the country, they only have dial-up so most the time I just forget about it and I can go days at a time without logging on. The frustration over the slowness isn’t worth deleting spam out of my inbox! LOL!

  11. [...] and I both got a lot done around the house though. I didn’t end up participating in “Shutdown Day.” I had too much to prepare for my photoshoot and needed to use my [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.