Musings of a crunchy, domestic goddess

Just another mama musing about her kids, Attachment Parenting, activism, photography, and life in general

What a barfy night and a ? about chicken-style seitan April 27, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — amygeekgrl @ 12:58 pm

What a barfy night. Not for me (well, inadvertantly it was since I was on the receiving end of the barf), but for Ava.

Poor Ava was up off and on barfing from 2:30 to 7 a.m. It made for a very long night, especially since I went to bed already having a headache last night. Jody got up with us the first few times and helped clean up (which was good because those times were the messiest), but I let him sleep through the later dry heaves in the early morning. I wanted him to get *some* sleep before having to go to work this morning and I figured Ava and I would sleep in (which we did, til about 10:30).

It was so sad when she woke up a few times saying “no more throw up” because she knew it was coming again and then she’d heave some more. 😦

I made a stirfry last night trying out “chicken” seitan for the first time and now I wonder if something was wrong with it. You may recall a similar situation happened to us with tempeh before.

So does anyone know what the White Wave Chicken-Style Seitan is supposed to look like out of the package? Should it resemble a block of tofu? That’s what I was expecting it to look like, but mine was all broken up into chunks. The expiration date was in May and I just bought it yesterday so I figured it’d be fine, but I just didn’t know what to expect. And I have to say that it tasted just fine too. Maybe her system just didn’t like it because, other than my having a headache, Jody and I didn’t have any reaction to it.

Thankfully she’s been fine since about 7 this morning. No more puking and she woke up to her happy, energetic self. I asked her how her tummy was this morning and she replied, “pretty good.” And she never ran a fever or had any other symptoms which is why I’m thinking she just had a bad reaction to dinner. Poor lil chickadee.

Of course this happens the day before we have plans to leave Ava with friends while Jody and I venture out to celebrate our anniversary which was last week. We have reservations at The Melting Pot and I am really looking forward to it. Hopefully Ava will continue to do well and we’ll be ok to leave her tomorrow evening. Keep your fingers crossed. πŸ™‚

 

4 Responses to “What a barfy night and a ? about chicken-style seitan”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Sorry Ava wasn’t feeling well, I’m glad it passed , its no fun when the lil ones have the ‘sickies’ as we call them.

    No advice on the chicken stuff as I have never used it 😦 But I always go by, if it looks ok, smells ok, tastes ok… must be ok rule, lol.

    Hope you enjoy your dinner, I’ve always wanted to go there but haven’t yet… πŸ˜€

  2. Yup I think the seitan is supposed to be chunks!

  3. amygeekgrl Says:

    dawn – thanks. she’s better but not eating much of anything yet. i’m trying not to worry cuz she’s still nursing. that’s pretty much how i operate with the whole “if it looks ok, smells ok, tastes ok… must be ok rule” myself.
    i’m sure i will post about the melting pot provided all goes well tonight w/ ava. i’m trying to get her to nap now, but she is resisting (of course, cuz we have plans).

    jess – thanks! that’s good to know that it wasn’t bad.

  4. Penny Says:

    Poor Ava!
    Hope she feeling better soon.
    I’m impressed she knows whats happening – Tim gives us very little warning. It just er… emerges! Yuk!


Leave a Reply

