Musings of a crunchy, domestic goddess

Just another mama musing about her kids, Attachment Parenting, activism, photography, and life in general

BSM – 3/19/07 March 18, 2007

Filed under: Ava,Best Shot Monday,Julian,Photography,Pictures — amygeekgrl @ 10:35 pm

Time for another round of Best Shot Monday.

This week I’m featuring several pics of my kids in my new prop – a giant tea cup. I’m usually not a big fan of props, but after reading about and seeing the tea cups on ILP I thought it was particularly cute, especially for babies.

So here ya go – My Kids in a Cup! πŸ™‚

Julian – 3 3/4 months old
p3178768bw.jpg p3178768.jpg p3178770bw.jpg

p3178796.jpg p3178813bw.jpg p3178813.jpg

Ava – 2 3/4 years old
p3178821bw.jpg p3178821.jpg p3178842bw.jpg p3178842.jpg

For anyone who’s wondering, the tea cups are available at (*gasp*) Walmart. I know, I know. (*hanging my head in shame*)

Visit Tracey over at Picture This to see everyone else’s best shots for this week.

Edited to add: A commenter asked that I share my lighting and backdrop setup, so here ya go. Lighting is natural – coming in from a sliding glass door to the left of my subjects (my right). Backdrop is a black piece of fleece. Subject is about 3 feet (they are supposed to be even more, but I don’t have that much room to work with) away from the backdrop. Hope that helps. πŸ™‚

 

23 Responses to “BSM – 3/19/07”

  1. Darryl Says:

    Great photos!! I can’t decide if I like the color or B/W better. Can you please share your lighting and back drop setup?

    Thanks!

  2. Amy Says:

    I like the color ones better, personally. I guess cause that shade of green is one of my favorite colors! I love how Ava’s sweater matches so well. My fave of Julian is the lower right hand one where he’s looking at his little toes. Your teacup is a very cute prop!

  3. Mommy Jen Says:

    Love it! Such a cute prop. And cute kiddos, too πŸ™‚

  4. melody Says:

    These are wonderful! I love the way baby is entranced by the toes. Your children are precious.

    Psst…I was at Walmart yesterday, too.*gasp too* I won’t tell if you don’t.

  5. Stacy Says:

    Great photos ad cute prop..where did you get it? I am partial to the color ones. They are much more fun and show the whimsy of the large teacup.

  6. carrievoris Says:

    there is nothing cuter than a baby in a teacup trying to reach his toes!! soooo cute. great pics! i love the second one of Ava too – her sweater, her expression, the teacup. it is all perfect.

  7. how adorable! i love how intently julian is looking at his toes. and ava sure knows how to work the camera! thanks for sharing the setup info as well.

  8. I saw some of those threads on ILP and was meaning to get me a teacup too, but forgot! Very cute! I just love that last shot of Ava. Great angle, great lighting, great catchlights. It’s really profound!

  9. Stacy Says:

    Thanks for letting me know where to get the teacup and for the comment on my picture. πŸ™‚ I hadn’t been on ILP for a few weeks…guess I missed the stampede to Waly World (not my store of choice either!).

  10. NTE Says:

    Adorable! & THanks for sharing your setup info: I know I appreciate any help I can get.

  11. Christina Says:

    How cute is that?! Love the teacup, what an adorable prop. I’m usually a big fan of B&W, but my vote’s for color with these.

  12. heather Says:

    I know I already told you but wanted to say it again! These are really cute! I can’t believe how big Julian is getting. They look even cuter put together the way you had them! HAHA I even made a Walmart comment on YYY!! LOL…

  13. maile Says:

    these are great! i love the colors!

  14. Erinne Says:

    Hi again…

    You are a terrific photographer – it’s one of my biggest passions, although I’m not great – I try…

    Your kids look so cute in the mugs.

    Don’t feel bad for shopping at Wal-Mart πŸ™‚ – I have to all the time – were I live there aren’t to many other options for certain things!

  15. Liesl Says:

    I like the old-fashioned look of b&w photos, but in the case of the colors here, I vote for the color pic. But they are all adorable!

    And, dang, I was just busy being all proud of myself for having avoided Wal-Mart recently πŸ˜‰

  16. amamasblog Says:

    Very cute…I thought those teacups looked familar- saw them at the big W, the last time I was there. Joe and laughed at them, and wondered what in the world you would do with them (plant some flowers in them?), but you found a great and cute use for them. I like the colored ones too- brings out the colors in the clothes and pots.

  17. Penny Says:

    Cute!! fleece… thats a good idea. been trying to think of something black and matte other than velvet!

  18. K Says:

    HOW AWESOME are these photos?! Your kids are precious, truly.

    Great job at capturing “the moment” on all of ’em!

  19. amygeekgrl Says:

    thank you all for the feedback. i appreciate it! πŸ™‚ sorry i’ve been MIA – have had the stomach flu or something. blah.

  20. […] March 22, 2007 @ 9:34 pm } · { Kids, Photography } Since everyone at ILP and Amy are doing it, I had to too. Here are my kids in a tea […]

  21. tracey Says:

    These are such fun. I’ve never seen the tea cup thing like that. It’s adorable. Great work. Hope you’re feeling better…I’m a week late in checking up with MBSM so I’m hoping you’re already back at full strength!

  22. Ninotchka Says:

    That is PRECIOUS! Very well done.

  23. LLD Says:

    Oh My Gosh !! Those are the sweetest pictures ever!

    I want a tea cup !! πŸ™‚ haha.


Leave a Reply

