Musings of a crunchy, domestic goddess

Just another mama musing about her kids, Attachment Parenting, activism, photography, and life in general

Good finds, good deals, good golly – we spent a lot of money May 16, 2007

Filed under: Ava,Family and Friends,Jody,Julian,Miscellaneous,Money,Pictures — amygeekgrl @ 9:20 am

As you know, this past weekend I participated in the Just Between Friends sale – a huge consignment event with over 300 consignors. Jody and I went to the pre-sale night, for consignors and friends only, and came away with quite a bit of loot.

I hit the clothes racks with Julian in the Ergo while Jody and Ava walked around looking at other things. I had picked out several items for Ava when I felt a tap on my shoulder. I turned around to see Jody wearing a big backpack and Ava riding high in it, grinning from ear to ear. “I’m in a backpack!” The pack – Kelty Kids Back Country – was in great shape and, although we haven’t done much hiking in a while, we decided to get it. Even if we don’t use it much, I think we can resell it for what we paid for it.

Kelty Kids backpack

After making my way through the girls’ clothes, I headed over to find some things for Julian. Not long after I’d started looking, Jody came back, this time wheeling Ava around in a double jogging stroller. Apparently she was getting to try out several modes of transportation that night. 😉 We had previously talked about getting a stroller, so I was cool with getting it. I had actually been eyeing that one when the owner dropped it off earlier in the day.

I took the kids out in it for a test run on Friday. The front wheel pulls a bit to the right, but I think we can fix that without too much effort. Julian fell asleep in it, so that’s a good sign. I parked him under a tree, then Ava and I had some fun playing in the park.

Julian and Ava in the new jogger 5/11/07

Back to the sale…
As for clothes, I ended up buying for Ava (all size 4T):
3 dresses,
3 shirts,
2 tanktops,
3 shorts/skorts,
and 1 pair of capri pants.

And for Julian (some 12M, some 18M – yep, he’s huge and not quite 6 months old yet):
3 rompers,
4 shirts,
2 onesies,
1 pair of pants,
1 pair of overall shorts,
5 bibs (the way he drools, he goes through them like there’s no tomorrow),
1 sun hat (new with tags),
and a bathing suit with matching robe.

Combine that with what they already had and I think the kids are definitely set for the summer. 🙂

We ended up spending a bit more than I’d planned, but I feel like we got a good deal on everything we bought, and we should get some use out of it all, so it was worth it. One of these days, I just might show some restraint when it comes to these sales. But with such great deals, maybe not.

I’ll find out how much money I made off the items I consigned when I get my check in the mail in two weeks. Hopefully it will make a dent in what we spent. 😉

 

5 Responses to “Good finds, good deals, good golly – we spent a lot of money”

  1. amamasblog Says:

    Looks like you got some great deals. I used to get all excited shopping for ME- now I get all excited on good deals on t-shirts, and shorts…how things have changed. 🙂

  2. meandtheboys Says:

    Nice stroller! We have a double jogger, too, and there is rarely a day that goes by that we don’t use it. Enjoy : )

  3. heather Says:

    YAY to scoring some great loot! I scored one of those strollers for $5 at a yard sale–it is great!!

    Hope you made some good money too.

  4. Penny Says:

    We used our backpack heaps with Tim and anticipate the same with Lydia. When we go on holiday it is what we take rather than the stroller because we do a lot of walking in the woods etc where the stroller struggles. The jogging strollers are great too – I like our one much better than our 4 wheel umbrella stroller. Good deals!

  5. Grandma S Says:

    What a cute picture of the kids in the new jogging stroller. You’ll be able to use that for a couple of years. Sounds like your purchases were all very good. I love that you recycle so much-wish that more people would follow your example.


Leave a Reply

